Earthquake + St. Patrick’s Day = Shamrock Shake

Standard

 IMG_0534  IMG_0531

This St. Patrick’s Day brought us a top o’ the mornin’ to ya with a 4.4 earthquake around 6:30am. Not so much luck ‘o the Irish here in L.A. I guess. Thankfully, I don’t think baby K felt much of a quake with her bouncing up and down in her crib waiting for us to come and get her. I’m glad I didn’t have to come up with a giant leprechauns were bouncing on the rooftops searching for the pot o’ gold story and hope that she would buy it. 

Shaken up from this morning, we decided to take it easy today.
We went for a stroll and playtime at Tongva Park

IMG_5287spent a good hour or so at K’s arts and crafts table…

photo (8)

read a stack of K’s favorite picture books…

IMG_8930

and I made some golumpki’s (Polish stuffed cabbage rolls) as K took a long afternoon nap.

photo (7)

When she woke up, I thought we surprise my husband with an afternoon treat once he came home from work.

photo (4)

Every St. Patrick’s Day over the last several years, he pays his once-a-year visit to Mc Donald’s for a Shamrock Shake, a minty green milkshake topped with whipped cream and a cherry. I’ve never been fond of them…I’ve taken a sip or two and really hoped I would like ’em but didn’t. And now after reading about what they’re made of (tons of sugar, additives, etc.), I’m so glad I hadn’t! So this year, I thought I would end this tradition and researched how I could make my own version of a Shamrock Shake. Surprisingly (and thankfully) there were many copy-cat versions out there. I was able to mix and match ingredients in recipes and come up with my own. And this is one I’ll be using on days in addition to March 17th because it not only tastes better than what Mc Donald’s has to offer but it’s a healthy refreshing treat my whole family (including me) loves!

photo (5)   photo (6)

Homemade Shamrock Shake

This recipe takes about 3 minutes and makes 2 1/2 servings (perfect for two parents and a tot!).

What You Need:
Ingredients (listed below)
blender
a few cups & straws

Ingredients:
1 medium sized ripe organic avocado
1 large ripe organic banana
1 1/2 C raw milk (or any desired milk)
3 heaping teaspoons of raw honey
1 tsp pure peppermint extract
1 C ice
1 handful of spinach or dark leafy green (optional for coloring)

Directions:
1. Place ingredients in a blender (ice on top) and blend until combined and smooth.
2. Pour into cups and enjoy with a straw. Top with homemade whipped cream and a real cherry if you’d like!

One thought on “Earthquake + St. Patrick’s Day = Shamrock Shake

Leave a Reply

